US citizens in the UK · Institutions

Which Virgin Money accounts accept US citizens

Last checked

Virgin Money has been checked for US citizens across 6 account types. 5 are open to a US person (1 with strings) and 1 is not on offer, whatever your nationality.

If you already have an account with Virgin Money, a second one there is usually the easier application, because Virgin Money has already checked who you are. Each account below carries its verdict, the evidence behind it and the date it was last updated.

At a glance

Account type Verdict Accounts Updated
Current accounts Accepts US citizens 3
Savings accounts Accepts US citizens 4
Cash ISAs Accepts US citizens 3
Mortgages Accepts with conditions 2
Credit cards Accepts US citizens 5
Junior cash ISAs Not offered —
Accepts US citizens
Updated

Virgin Money asks that you are 18 or over and living in the UK. Its own tax self-certification tells a US citizen to enter the United States alongside the UK, so US status is handled as reporting rather than refusal.

FSCS £120,000, shared with Nationwide · app, online or branch

Account Terms The catch
M Plus Account (opens in a new tab)
Monthly fee
Free
Interest
1.00% AER
Abroad
No fees on spending abroad
Interest is paid on the first £1,000 only.
M Account (opens in a new tab)
Monthly fee
Free
Interest
None
Abroad
No fees on spending abroad
—
Club M Account (opens in a new tab)
Monthly fee
£14 a month
Interest
1.00% AER
Abroad
No fees on spending abroad
Interest is paid on the first £1,000 only.

Source: Virgin Money CRS and current accounts, 2026-08-17 Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

Virgin Money opens online savings to UK residents aged 16 or over and treats non-UK tax residency as a self-certification and reporting matter, with no US-person exclusion in its published terms. The US taxes the interest as ordinary income.

FSCS £120,000, shared with Nationwide · online or app

Account Terms The catch
Double Take E-Saver (annual interest) (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
4.16% AER, variable
Min
£1
Max
£250,000
Rate as of
Only 2 withdrawals a calendar year, then no access until January. Interest paid annually at 4.16% gross.
Double Take E-Saver (monthly interest) (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
4.16% AER, variable
Min
£1
Max
£250,000
Rate as of
Only 2 withdrawals a calendar year, then no access until January. Interest paid monthly at 4.08% gross.
1 Year Fixed Rate E-Bond (opens in a new tab)
Access
Fixed term
Rate
4.00% AER, fixed
Term
1 year
Min
£1
Max
£1,000,000
Rate as of
Fund it within 7 days of opening, and no withdrawals until maturity.
M Plus Saver (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
1.75% AER, variable
Max
None stated
Rate as of
Needs an M Plus current account, and only the first £25,000 earns the top rate.

Source: Virgin Money savings pages, 2026-08-17 Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

Virgin Money's ISA key facts say UK residents aged 18 or over can open a cash ISA, with Crown employees serving overseas also eligible. The cash ISA rules carry no US-person wording and no sole-tax-residency requirement. The IRS still taxes the interest as US income, as the wrapper gives no US relief.

FSCS £120,000, shared with Nationwide · online or branch

Account Terms The catch
1 Year Fixed Rate Cash E-ISA (opens in a new tab)
Access
Fixed term
Rate
4.41% AER, fixed
Term
1 year
Min
£1
Rate as of
Fixed for the term; withdrawals are allowed but cost 60 days of interest.
Double Take E-ISA (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
4.15% AER, variable
Min
£1
Rate as of
Two withdrawals a calendar year, then none until January.
M Access ISA (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
3.25% AER, variable
Rate as of
Open only to holders of a Virgin Money current account.

Source: Virgin Money ISA key facts, 2026-08-17 Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts with conditions
Updated

US persons: needs indefinite leave to remain, three years of address history and sterling pay

Virgin Money does not differentiate by nationality and still has no route for a US citizen on a work visa, because the only statuses it accepts are permanent right to reside or EU settlement. It refuses all non-sterling income, including dollars already converted into pounds. Note that Virgin Money is now part of Nationwide, which refuses foreign currency income too, so the two are not separate chances.

Through a broker · permanent right to reside and three consecutive years of UK address history

Account Terms The catch
Everyday 5 year fixed (opens in a new tab)
Rate
4.81%, fixed
Then
6.74% standard variable rate
Term
5 years
Max LTV
90%
Product fee
£999
Rate as of
Free valuation on purchase, but no non-sterling income is accepted at all.
Everyday 2 year fixed (opens in a new tab)
Rate
4.83%, fixed
Then
6.74% standard variable rate
Term
2 years
Max LTV
90%
Product fee
£999
Rate as of
The fee free version is 5.02%, so it is worth doing the sums on a smaller loan.

Source: Virgin Money intermediaries foreign nationals criteria, 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

Cards remain on sale to UK residents aged 18 or over with no citizenship condition, and are now issued in Nationwide's name after it bought Virgin Money in 2024. Its travel card is the one worth noting if you still spend in dollars, since it drops the currency fee entirely.

Nationwide Building Society, trading as Virgin Money

Account Terms The catch
Virgin Atlantic Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
26.9% APR representative
Card fee
Not confirmed; not stated on the hub page
Abroad
Not stated on the card page.
Rate as of
Earns Virgin Points on spending, redeemable for flights and upgrades. The nav labels this 'Virgin Atlantic credit cards' (plural), which may mean more than one tier (e.g. a Reward and a Reward+ version) exists; only this one headline rate was confirmable.
Travel Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
27.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
No foreign exchange fee worldwide
Rate as of
0% interest on purchases for 9 months at home and abroad from account opening, and 0% on balance and money transfers for 9 months (fees apply on transfers). Cash advances and foreign currency purchases still carry a 3% cash advance fee.
All Round Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
27.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
2.99% outside the EEA, nothing on euro transactions inside it
Rate as of
0% interest on both purchases and balance transfers for up to 20 months from account opening (transfers must be made within the first 60 days), with a 2.95% balance transfer fee. Subject to status, UK residents aged 18 or over.
Balance Transfer Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
27.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
Not stated on the card page.
Rate as of
0% interest on balance transfers for up to 36 months (transfers made in the first 60 days; a transfer fee applies but no percentage is quoted on the page). Also 0% interest on purchases for 3 months from account opening.
Everyday Cashback Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
27.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
No foreign exchange fee on purchases abroad, but a 5% cash advance fee (ATM withdrawals, gambling, investments, buying foreign currency), which applies even in the UK.
Rate as of
Earns 1% cashback on spending for the first 90 days, then 0.25%, capped at £15 cashback a month. No balance transfer or promotional purchase rate; not suited to anyone wanting an intro offer.

Source: Virgin Money credit cards, 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Not offered
Updated

Virgin Money, now part of Nationwide, lists only adult cash ISAs when it says which ISAs it offers, will not accept a Junior ISA transfer, and its children's range is the Headstart account, the Cybersave account and Child Savings Bonds.

Source: Virgin Money ISAs page, 2026-09-11 (opens in a new tab) Virgin Money's own page (opens in a new tab)

Account names link to the provider's own site. No link on this page is paid. How Momo makes money. Every institution, A to Z.

Confirm your own position with a cross-border specialist. Acceptance policies and tax rules change, and your facts may differ from the general case. Rates and terms here are the provider's published figures rather than an offer, and the provider decides each application on its own criteria. Use this as a map, not a ruling. Last checked .