US citizens in the UK · Institutions

Which NatWest accounts accept US citizens

Last checked

NatWest has been checked for US citizens across 10 account types. 6 are open to a US person (1 with strings), 2 are closed and 2 are not on offer, whatever your nationality.

If you already have an account with NatWest, a second one there is usually the easier application, because NatWest has already checked who you are. Each account below carries its verdict, the evidence behind it and the date it was last updated.

At a glance

Account type Verdict Accounts Updated
Current accounts Accepts US citizens 2
Savings accounts Accepts US citizens 3
Cash ISAs Accepts US citizens 2
Stocks & shares ISAs NatWest Invest Accepts with conditions 1
SIPPs Declines US citizens —
Mortgages Accepts US citizens 2
Credit cards Accepts US citizens 8
Junior cash ISAs Not offered —
Junior stocks & shares ISAs Declines US citizens —
Junior SIPPs Not offered —
Accepts US citizens
Updated

Accepts US persons with a UK address, with FATCA self-certification at sign-up.

FSCS £120,000 · app, online or branch

Account Terms The catch
Select (opens in a new tab)
Monthly fee
Free
Interest
None
Abroad
2.75% non-sterling fee on payments and cash withdrawals
—
Reward (opens in a new tab)
Monthly fee
£2 a month
Interest
None, though it pays £4 a month in rewards
Abroad
No non-sterling fee on card payments anywhere; the 2.75% fee still applies to cash withdrawals
Needs £1,250 paid in each month, and two direct debits for the rewards.

Source: Greenback, 2026-06-19 NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

NatWest opens adult savings to anyone over 16 who is a UK resident, with no US-person bar; its cash ISA, Digital Regular Saver and Flexible Saver are limited to existing NatWest current account customers. The US taxes the interest as ordinary income.

FSCS £120,000 · online, app or branch

Account Terms The catch
Digital Regular Saver (opens in a new tab)
Access
Regular saver
Rate
5.25% AER, variable
Min
£1 a month
Max
None stated
Rate as of
Needs a NatWest current account. Pay in £1 to £150 a month, and the rate applies only to the first £5,000; above that it drops to 1.00%.
Fixed Term Savings (2 year) (opens in a new tab)
Access
Fixed term
Rate
4.75% AER, fixed
Term
2 years
Min
£1
Max
£3,000,000
Rate as of
Locked until maturity, with early closure charges; the 1-year term pays 4.15%.
Flexible Saver (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
1.00% AER, variable
Min
£1
Max
None stated
Rate as of
Needs a NatWest current account; higher tiers start at £25,000.

Source: NatWest savings and tax residency pages, 2026-08-17 NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

The cash ISA information sheet asks that you are 18 or over and resident in the UK for tax purposes, with the standard Crown employee extension. The Cash ISA also needs a NatWest current account, which applies to everyone rather than to US citizens specifically. The IRS still taxes the interest as US income, as the wrapper gives no US relief.

FSCS £120,000, shared with Ulster Bank · online, app, phone or branch

Account Terms The catch
Fixed Rate ISA (opens in a new tab)
Access
Fixed term
Rate
4.25% AER, fixed
Term
1 or 2 years
Rate as of
Held in your sole name, and early closure charges apply.
Cash ISA (opens in a new tab)
Access
Easy access
Rate
2.45% AER, variable
Rate as of
Needs a NatWest current account, and the top rate needs £25,000 or more, otherwise 1.15%.

Source: NatWest cash ISA information sheet, 2026-08-17 NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Stocks & shares ISAs

Compare with other providers

NatWest Invest

Accepts with conditions
Updated

US persons: no citizenship test on the ISA, though NatWest bars US citizens from its pension

The ISA asks only that you are a NatWest customer with online banking, aged 18 to 84 and UK resident for tax, with no citizenship test in the terms or the application. Note the asymmetry inside the same bank: its pension page bars US citizens from contributing. The catch here is the shelf rather than the door, since only five ready-made funds are offered and every one is a PFIC.

FSCS £85,000 · needs a NatWest account and online banking

Account Terms The catch
NatWest Invest Stocks and Shares ISA (opens in a new tab)
Annual fee
0.55% a year in total
Dealing fee
None
Can hold
Five ready-made portfolio funds. No individual shares at all, so every holding is a pooled fund and a PFIC for a US citizen.
Individual shares
No
US-domiciled ETFs
No
From £50 to start. The funds are managed by Coutts.

Source: NatWest stocks and shares ISA pages and supplementary information, 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) NatWest Invest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Declines US citizens
Updated

The mirror image of AJ Bell, inside one bank. NatWest's pension page says you cannot make contributions if you are a US citizen or a green card holder, while its stocks and shares ISA sets only a UK residence test with no citizenship condition. Same bank, opposite answers, so ask about the specific wrapper rather than about the bank.

FSCS £85,000 · needs a NatWest account

Source: NatWest pension pages, quoted 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

The best of the high street for someone paid in dollars, and for someone who has just landed. NatWest lists United States Dollar among its accepted currencies and counts it at the full converted amount with no haircut, and it states plainly that there is no minimum time in the UK. Without permanent right to reside you are held to 75% loan to value on a repayment basis.

Through a broker · no minimum time in the UK, visa with six months left

Account Terms The catch
2 year tracker (opens in a new tab)
Rate
4.23%, tracker
Then
6.74% variable
Term
2 years
Max LTV
75%
Product fee
£995
Rate as of
Minimum total loan of £350,000. The payment moves with the base rate.
5 year fixed (opens in a new tab)
Rate
5.08%, fixed
Then
6.74% variable
Term
5 years
Max LTV
75%
Product fee
£995
Rate as of
Minimum total loan of £350,000, and 75% is the ceiling without permanent right to reside.

Source: NatWest intermediary lending criteria, 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Accepts US citizens
Updated

The most welcoming of the big banks on paperwork: NatWest names a foreign passport and visa among the identity documents it accepts, which is not something the others spell out. Its test is being 18 or over, living here and earning £10,000, with no nationality condition. Only its credit builder card is restricted, to people who have banked with NatWest for three months.

Direct · no NatWest account needed for most cards

Account Terms The catch
The NatWest Credit Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
12.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
No foreign transaction fee on purchases
Rate as of
The rate offered can come back as high as 18.9%.
Purchase & Balance Transfer card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
24.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
Not stated on the card page.
Rate as of
0% on purchases for up to 23 months and 0% on balance transfers for up to 21 months, both from account opening; the balance must be transferred in the first 3 months. Balance transfer fee of 3.49%. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £10,000 or more a year.
Longer Balance Transfer card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
24.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
Not stated on the card page.
Rate as of
0% on balance transfers for up to 36 months from account opening if transferred in the first 3 months, plus 0% on purchases for 3 months. Balance transfer fee of 3.10%. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £10,000 or more a year.
Balance Transfer credit card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
24.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
Not stated on the card page.
Rate as of
0% on balance transfers for up to 11 months from account opening if transferred in the first 3 months, with no balance transfer fee, plus 0% on purchases for 3 months. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £10,000 or more a year.
Travel Reward credit card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
27.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
No foreign transaction fees on purchases abroad. Fees still apply to cash machine withdrawals and money advances abroad, and local fees may apply.
Rate as of
Earns 1% back in Rewards on eligible travel spending and 1% to 15% from partner retailers. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £10,000 or more a year.
Reward credit card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
31.0% APR representative
Card fee
£24 a year
Abroad
Not published; a foreign exchange fee applies to spending and cash abroad.
Rate as of
Earns 1% back in Rewards on supermarket spending (0.25% at supermarket petrol stations and elsewhere) plus 1% to 15% from partner retailers. The £24 annual fee is refunded if you hold a Reward current account. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £10,000 or more a year.
Credit Builder Card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
34.9% APR representative
Card fee
Free
Abroad
Not published
Rate as of
Only for people who have held a NatWest current account for three months or more, so it is not a way in.
Reward Black credit card (opens in a new tab)
Representative APR
40.7% APR representative
Card fee
£84 a year
Abroad
No foreign transaction fee on purchases abroad. Fees still apply to cash machine withdrawals and money advances abroad, and local fees may apply.
Rate as of
The 40.7% representative APR reflects the £84 annual fee; the purchase interest rate itself is 21.9%. Earns 1% back in Rewards on supermarket spending (0.5% at supermarket petrol stations and elsewhere) plus 1% to 15% from partner retailers. The £84 annual fee is refunded if you hold a Reward Black current account. Must be a UK resident, 18 or over and earn £15,000 or more a year, higher than NatWest's other cards.

Source: NatWest credit cards and eligibility pages, 2026-08-17 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Not offered
Updated

NatWest does not sell a Junior Cash ISA. Its only tax-free children's wrapper is the NatWest Junior ISA, which is stocks and shares only; the taxable First Saver is the sole cash option for a child.

Source: NatWest children's savings page and Junior ISA product page, 2026-09-11 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Junior stocks & shares ISAs

Compare with other providers
Declines US citizens
Updated

Unlike NatWest's adult Stocks and Shares ISA, which sets no citizenship test, the Junior ISA agreement makes the registered contact confirm that the child is not a United States Person, US citizen or Green Card holder, and to report if that changes. The test runs on the child's own status, so a US citizen child is barred even if the parent applying is not.

Source: NatWest Invest Junior ISA terms and conditions, clause 27.3, 2026-09-11 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Not offered
Updated

NatWest does not sell a junior pension. Its own 'how to open a Junior ISA' guide mentions a children's pension only as a generic type of product to be aware of, with no NatWest page, application route or terms for one; NatWest's product range for children is the stocks and shares Junior ISA alone.

Source: NatWest 'How to Open a Junior ISA' guide, 2026-09-11 (opens in a new tab) NatWest's own page (opens in a new tab)

Account names link to the provider's own site. No link on this page is paid. How Momo makes money. Every institution, A to Z.

Confirm your own position with a cross-border specialist. Acceptance policies and tax rules change, and your facts may differ from the general case. Rates and terms here are the provider's published figures rather than an offer, and the provider decides each application on its own criteria. Use this as a map, not a ruling. Last checked .